TransDEM Forum

TransDEM News, Support, Hints and Resources
It is currently 27 Apr 2024 23:56

All times are UTC + 1 hour

PostPosted: 02 Aug 2012 05:51 

So I am new to TransDEM, but have all ready successfully made one route using it and the Google Earth Images as ground textures tutorial provided by ModelerMJ. But that was a small 6 mile route that easily exported as a a rectangle when I high lighted just the area I wanted to make a route out off.

For my next project though I am doing a much larger route, and thus a much larger DEM. My question is this, is there a way to select only the part of the DEM that I am making to export?

As it is, when I export to a route, all the black areas, and parts of the DEM's I dont want included. Heres what my DEM looks like so far:

I only want to export the colored areas, and not the black zones. Is there a way to remove that? (Note, I have yet to add my GEOrefed Google Earth images as I haven't gotten to that step in my processes yet.)

Any help is appreciated.

PostPosted: 02 Aug 2012 16:52 

Jib228 wrote:
I only want to export the colored areas, and not the black zones. Is there a way to remove that?
Yes. It's called the Route Filter and it's based on vector data. You need the course of your route as a polyline. Then, during export, you tell TransDEM how many baseboards TransDEM shall create on either side of your route.

You will normally create the vector data yourself, by drawing with the built-in Simple Route Editor. For this, you will need a georeferenced map in addition to the DEM and then trace the route on the map.

PostPosted: 05 Aug 2012 06:02 

Thanks, that works!

But next question, when I go to export into Trainz, part of my route is cut off.

Here's my route in TansDEM:

Every thing on the right side of the right most horizontal pink line is left out. Now part of this route is a reuse of my first attempt that building a route trough TransDEM that worked just fine. (Its the branch line in the middle)