TransDEM Forum

TransDEM News, Support, Hints and Resources
It is currently 28 Mar 2024 15:01

All times are UTC + 1 hour

PostPosted: 05 Apr 2015 00:51 

May I join your community? I will try to be good.

First of all, thanks goes to Geophil for creating this terrific timesaver called TransDEM. I have been routebuilding in Trainz for many years using considerably slower methods and finally took the plunge and purchased it last week. After two days of extracting and executing the relevant sections from the two supplied manuals and ModelerMJ's Google Earth tutorial (nice work ModelerMJ!), including 2 sleeps and an 11 hour shift at work, I now have my first TransDEM generated route in Surveyor. It is a blend of SRTM 1arcsec DEM terrain, Google Earth imagery, and a mainline plotted out with a polyline created in Google Earth and imported to TransDEM.

I chose for this test project a section of the REAL Black Forest Railway in Germany, between Biberach and Villengen. I chose this line because I am off to Germany next weekend for a holiday, including 4 days in Triberg, which is a town along the line. We will be travelling by train of course! But mainly because the terrain is mostly hilly, the track alignment twisty and steep in places, and there are no less than 38 tunnels in the 75km between those towns. So it is a perfect test route for TransDEM, which has proven to be very accurate so far. I am very impressed, so hats off to Geophil.