TransDEM Forum

TransDEM News, Support, Hints and Resources
It is currently 22 Sep 2018 15:03

All times are UTC + 1 hour




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 4 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: 17 Apr 2018 20:10 
Offline

Joined: 14 Feb 2013 07:20
Posts: 4
Is it possible to use TransDEM to repair the heights of a route I've already exported from TransDEM and have done a lot of work on with rail splines (customizing the tracks, building switches, rail heights, etc) but TANE decided it was going to destroy a handful of baseboards and zero out the heights of them, leaving gaping holes in my route? Or am I completely screwed, is this just another reminder of why I always get annoyed at Trainz and its stupid stupid stupid bugs that make me want to throw my computer out a ten story window?


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: 18 Apr 2018 08:35 
Offline

Joined: 05 Jan 2011 16:45
Posts: 1101
I have to look into this. It is not possible at the moment being, I'm afraid, for a very simple reason: These zeroed-out baseboards seem to appear only in T:ANE SP2 where we have the new route file structure with per-baseboard files. And I am still struggling with the individual file structure as it is not simply a split-up version of the previous structure. So, currently TransDEM cannot yet read T:ANE SP2 route files, and hence cannot fix heights. And work on the new file structure will still take quite a while (being slowed down further, unfortunately, as I am improving some geo data handling right now in a different part of TransDEM).


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: 19 Apr 2018 03:33 
Offline

Joined: 14 Feb 2013 07:20
Posts: 4
Thanks for the information. I'm currently seeing if anything can be done in the Trainz forum as well, someone mentioned that this has been fixed in a beta but changing to the beta release stream has actually made the problem worse for me, I'm afraid.

Despite my countless hours working on this route I've not yet progressed much past placing and height-adjusting track splines (albeit there are some non track items such as bridges and whatnot), is there any way in TransDEM 2.5 (or maybe even a newer version) to at least recover the trackwork I've done (preferably including height data but I'd settle for 2d data at this point) and re-export that in a new baseboard export? Or does that rely on the current baseboard files that you mentioned not being able to read too? I still have the DEM data and would not be against re-exporting from TD as a "new route" if it means not having to relay all the trackwork.

I appreciate all your hard work in making this amazing program to make Trainzers' custom routebuilding easier, but I'm afraid that unless this is possible in some version of TD (or someone on the Trainz forum can help me recover this route) I probably won't be purchasing any further versions of TransDEM as the continued perpetual bugs in Trainz have finally gotten to me. Don't take it personally, it's not you, it's N3V. They won't get another dime out of me either, at this rate.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: 19 Apr 2018 12:34 
Offline

Joined: 05 Jan 2011 16:45
Posts: 1101
ctclark1 wrote:
.. is there any way in TransDEM 2.5 (or maybe even a newer version) to at least recover the trackwork I've done (preferably including height data but I'd settle for 2d data at this point) and re-export that in a new baseboard export? Or does that rely on the current baseboard files that you mentioned not being able to read too?
It all relies on reading back the route files into TransDEM. And almost every one them has changed its structure. For every aspect that is relevant to a baseboard, a per-baseboard structure has been introduced. For some, the changes are fairly simple and obvious, for others they are not. And track spline points cause headaches at the moment. They used to be defined by straightforward Trainz World Coordinates (TWC), but now they carry additional structures. One, apparently, is a 3D bounding box, the other could be a transformation matrix. The reason for both is not clear at the moment. But it seems I cannot simply adjust the TWC values (e.g. fix the height) without adjusting the dependent values in that additional structures, too.


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 4 posts ] 

All times are UTC + 1 hour


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  

Imprint & Privacy

Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group