TransDEM Forum

TransDEM News, Support, Hints and Resources
It is currently 23 Apr 2018 18:23

All times are UTC + 1 hour




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 6 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: 13 Jan 2018 18:49 
Offline

Joined: 27 Apr 2016 00:32
Posts: 11
Here is a screenshot of my issue (link attached). In the Web Map Tile Server tool the Map image itself is "minimized" and is not occupying the entire area of the frame. Is there a way to change the area so that it is larger?

https://ibb.co/hV2Qj6

Tia for any suggestions or help.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: 13 Jan 2018 19:12 
Offline

Joined: 05 Jan 2011 16:45
Posts: 1081
Does this happen with all providers and tile types? At every zoom level? If not, what are the values for width and height in your API key settings for "Google Maps (key)", "Map"? ("Settings" > "Edit")


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: 14 Jan 2018 03:30 
Offline

Joined: 27 Apr 2016 00:32
Posts: 11
Here is a screenshot of the settings. And yes it is the same minimized size for the other servers (tired bing/ and open street map).

https://ibb.co/ndgSE6

Thanks


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: 14 Jan 2018 09:58 
Offline

Joined: 05 Jan 2011 16:45
Posts: 1081
That's very strange. There is a significant difference between standard map tiles as, for instance, Open Street Map and the static APIs of Google and Microsoft Bing, when used with access keys.

Standard map tiles are always 256x256 pixels. The preview window in the Map Tile client combines four of them to create a 512x512 pixel image. With the API variant, however, we only acquire one single image for the preview, with the dimensions dined in the settings. By preset, this is 512x560 pixels for Google Maps and TransDEM will crop to 512x512.

You can verify what TransDEM acquires with the URL it composes. In the settings dialog, use the "Sample URL" group at the bottom and click on "Copy URL to clipboard". Paste this URL into your web browser and examine the dimensions of the resulting image.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: 15 Jan 2018 03:27 
Offline

Joined: 27 Apr 2016 00:32
Posts: 11
Mr. Ziegler,

I really appreciate the time you are spending to help me to resolve this issue. I am no where near as technical as you are. Here is a screen shot of the image preview when I did the copy from the settings page. The image is much larger (close to what i would hope for within the frame in TransDem). The image according to the element inspection is 482pix by 482pix.

Here is a link to the screenshot for that image.

https://ibb.co/bWcpwm

I have my screen resolution set to 3840x2160. Is it possible that those settings are causing some issue?


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: 15 Jan 2018 09:21 
Offline

Joined: 05 Jan 2011 16:45
Posts: 1081
PHENICUS wrote:
I have my screen resolution set to 3840x2160. Is it possible that those settings are causing some issue?
That can indeed be the reason. I was almost going to ask whether a 4k display might be involved. While Windows 10 is able to enlarge many window elements, to make them look "normal" size, it seems to fail for others.

The map tile preview area in TransDEM is set to 512x512 physical pixels, and you most probably get these 512 physical pixels, while most other elements will be twice the original size on your display. I have not figured out any pattern here yet. On my tiny 10" Win 10 laptop with a higher than normal physical screen resolution, I have set the display zoom factor to 125% to make things legible. And there the preview image does fill the entire designated preview area.


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 6 posts ] 

All times are UTC + 1 hour


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron

Imprint

Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group